South African Institute of Physics



NPO Registration Number: 130-172 NPO SAQA Professional Body ID: 777

http://www.saip.org.za/

Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040, South Africa

Prof. M.L. Chithambo (President)

Rhodes University Tel: +27 (0) 46 603 8450 Email: m.chithambo@ru.ac.za

Prof. R.R. Maphanga (Honorary Secretary)

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Tel: +27 (0)12 841 4931 Email: rmaphanga@csir.co.za

Dr. B. Masara (Executive Officer)

Tel: +27 (0) 12 8412627 Fax: +27 86 605 0871 Email: brian.masara@saip.org.za

Date: 13 March 2023

Dear SAIP Member

Call for Nominations to SAIP Council for the period 2023 - 2025

This letter serves as a call for nominations for the following SAIP Council positions for the term 2023 – 2025. The Council positions available for nominations are President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and four (4) Ordinary members.

An individual may be nominated for more than one position. An individual may only serve three (3) consecutive terms as an Ordinary member of the Council. The three-term limit is not applicable to the portfolios of the Secretary and Treasurer. For nominations to be valid:

- The nominee must be a paid-up CPhys, CPhysTECH, Honorary, Fellow, Emeritus, Ordinary, Retired or Associate member.
- The nomination needs to be proposed and seconded by voting members of good standing.
- All nominations must be made on the Council approved nomination form (attached), and all sections need to be completed.
- The nominee needs to accept the nomination by means of an acceptance signature on the nomination form.
- For the position of President-Elect, the nominee needs to have previously served on Council

The current members of the Council Executive are:

- 1. **President:** Professor Makaiko Chithambo (Rhodes),
- 2. President-Elect: Professor Rudolph Erasmus (Wits)
- 3. Past-President: Professor Deena Naidoo (Wits)
- 4. Treasurer: Professor Ernest van Dyk (NMU),
- 5. **Secretary:** Professor Regina Maphanga (CSIR)

Executive Officer (Ex-Officio): Dr Brian Masara (SAIP)

Ordinary Elected Council Members:

- 1. Prof Du Toit Strauss (NWU)
- 2. Dr Eric Maluta (UniVen)
- 3. Dr Rudzani Nemutudi (iThembaLABS)

Additional Co-opted Members of Council:

- 1. Prof Manny Mathuthu (NWU)
- 2. Dr Zama Katamzi-Joseph (SANSA)

Divisions' Rep on Council - Elected by Divisions: Prof Alan Cornel (UJ)

Students' Rep on Council- Elected by Divisions Students Reps: Miss Anna Chrysostomou (UJ).

All nomination forms must reach the secretary electronically on or before **19 May 2023**. Online voting will take **19 May to 15 June 2023**.

Yours sincerely,

Regina Maphanga Honorary Secretary SAIP