South African Institute of Physics

NPO Registration Number: 130-172 NPO



Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040, South Africa



Prof. A. Muoranga (President)

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University - Tel: +27 (0) 41 504 2873 Email:

azwinndini.muronga@gmail.com

Prof. M.L. Chithambo (Honorary Secretary)

Rhodes University Tel: +27 (0) 46 603 8450 Email: secretary@saip.org.za

Mr. B. Masara (Executive Officer)

Tel: +27 (0) 12 8412627Fax: +27 86 605 0871Email: brian.masara@saip.org.za

3 January 2017

Dear SAIP Member

Nominations for Council Members 2017 - 2019

With reference to the constitution and by-laws of the SAIP, this letter serves as a call for nominations for the following Council portfolios for the term 2017 - 2019.

- President-Elect
- Secretary
- Treasurer
- Ordinary members of council (4 in total).

An individual may be nominated for more than one position. An individual may only serve three (3) consecutive terms as an ordinary member of Council. The three term limit is not applicable to the portfolios of Secretary and Treasurer.

For nominations to be valid:

- The nominee has to be a paid up Honorary, Emeritus, Ordinary, Retired or Associate member.
- The nomination needs to be proposed and seconded by voting members of good standing.
- All nominations must be made on the Council approved nomination form (attached) and all sections need to be completed.
- The nominee needs to accept the nomination by means of an acceptance signature on the nomination form.

All nomination forms must reach the secretary electronically **on or before 30 April 2017.** Online voting will be take place from May to mid June 2017.

The current Council members are:

President: Prof. A. Muronga (NMMU)
President-Elect: Prof. P. Woudt (UCT)
Treasurer: Prof. A. Venter (NMMU)

Secretary: Prof. M .L. Chithambo (RHODES) - Not available for re-election

Ordinary Elected Council Members: Prof. Regina Maphanga (UL), Prof. Deena Naidoo (WITS), Dr. John

Bosco Habarulema (SANSA); Dr. Sam Ramailla (UJ);

Additional Co-opted Members of Council:: Dr. Malebo Tibane (UP), Prof. Mmantsae Diale (UP), Prof.

Igle. Gledhill (CSIR)

Yours sincerely

Prof. M.L. Chithambo, Honorary Secretary

male as holitus