

## 2018 Women in Physics (WiPiSA) Departmental Lunches

## INVITATION

## Dear Physics HoD's /Departmental Reps

The WiPiSA Executive Committee would like to invite female academics and postgraduate students to apply for the 2018 WiPiSA Lunches at their respective Physics Departments.

Two of the main objectives of WiPiSA are to:

- 1) Encourage and stimulate an interest in girls and women to study physics
- 2) Support girls and women to work in physics-related careers and assist in removing/overcoming obstacles and barriers for girls and women in their studies and at workplace.

To meet this objectives, we initiated an idea to have departmental lunches across Universities within South Africa. The lunch activity is expected to bring women in physics together; academics, those in leadership roles and students (both undergraduates and postgraduates) to enjoy a meal together while encouraging and stimulating interests in others to study physics, networking and talking about some challenges they are facing as women in physics.

WiPiSA will provide a funding of **R3000-00 only** for your institution to organize the lunch. We therefore request you to help us accomplish this goal, or forward the name and contact information of the representative from your department to facilitate this activity.

We would appreciate if the lunch event can be held before the end of November 2018 as this will help us to compile a report. WiPiSA expects you to send us:

1) A short report about the event (venue, number of attendees, activities, etc).

2) The outcomes of the event (students were motivated, links established, etc).

3) Few event pictures.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at raesibe.ledwaba@ul.ac.za for further enquiries. We hope our request will be considered and implemented.

Regards Dr Raesibe S. Ledwaba Tel: +27 15 268 3964 Email: <u>raesibe.ledwaba@ul.ac.za</u> Alternative email: raesibeitm@gmail.com

## WiPiSA Executive Committee 2018

Dr R. S. Ledwaba (Chairperson) Dr R. Modiba (Secretary) Ms M. Onesimo (Student Representative) Dr. B. Sondezi (Past-Chairperson)