Date: 01 April 2025



Dear SAIP Member,

Call for Nominations for SAIP Council for the period 2025 - 2027

The SAIP is calling for nominations for the SAIP Council for the 2025 – 2027 term of office. The council positions available for nominations are President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and four (4) Ordinary members.

An individual may be nominated for more than one position. An individual may only serve three (3) consecutive terms as an ordinary member of the Council. The three-term limit is not applicable to the portfolios of the Secretary and Treasurer. For nominations to be valid:

- The nominee has to be a paid-up CPhys, CPhysTECH, Honorary, Fellow, Emeritus, Ordinary, Retired or Associate member.
- The nomination needs to be proposed and seconded by voting members in good standing.
- All nominations must be made on the Council-approved nomination form (attached), and all sections must be completed.
- The nominee needs to accept the nomination by means of an acceptance signature on the nomination form.
- For the position of President-Elect, the nominee needs to have previously served on the Council

The current members of the Council are given below.

Council Executive Members:

- 1. **President**: Professor Rudolph Erasmus (Wits)
- 2. **President-Elect:** Professor Eric Maluta (UniVen)
- 3. Past-President: Professor Makaiko Chithambo (Rhodes)
- 4. Treasurer: Professor Ernest van Dyk (NMU)
- 5. Secretary: Professor Regina Maphanga (CSIR)

Ordinary Elected Council Members:

- 6. Prof Du Toit Strauss (NWU)
- 7. Dr Edwin Mapasha (UP)
- 8. Dr Rosinah Modiba (CSIR)
- 9. Prof Deepak Kar (Wits)

Additional Co-opted Members of Council:

- 10. Dr Trisha Salagaram (UCT)
- 11. Dr Bongani Maqabuka (UJ)

Divisions Rep on Council – Elected by Divisions

12. Prof Alan Cornell (UJ)

Students Representative on Council – Elected by Divisions Student Representatives

13. Mr Cade Peters (Wits)

All nomination forms must reach the secretary electronically on or before **15 May 2025**. Online voting will take place from **20 May to 20 June 2025**.

Yours sincerely,

Prof Regina Maphanga Honorary Secretary SAIP

Building 4W, CSIR, Meiring Naude Rd, Brummeria, Pretoria, RSA. Info@saip.org.za | +27 (0)12 756 4900 | Fax: +27 86 605 0871 Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040. Reg No. 130-172 NPO | SAQA ID No. 777